Shameless Nudity

It would seem that at least one person has visited this blog in the last week in the hope of seeing pictorial evidence of Lady GaGa‘s lady parts, judging by the search engine referrers list. How quaint. Not that kind of site, I’m afraid. I’m really resisting some weak pun linking this information and the new Bloc Party single. Oh, just do it yourself, you know you want to.

Anyway, I’m still suffering a bit of Glasto withdrawal. What am I supposed to watch on the telly now? I know, it’s hardly the same as those people who actually depressed at no longer physically being in Pilton, but I so love the five-screen red button pleasure. Maybe it is that kind of site after all? Blur was everything I’d hoped they’d be and they genuinely seemed to be bombarded with love by the enormous crowd. Admittedly, watching Jo Whiley nearly crying and Zane Lowe over-analysing some songs, played by a band, on a stage, was pretty disturbing but I still went to bed happy, despite their best efforts. I particularly enjoyed viewing the rest of the night’s footage the following evening via Sky+ and finding a really-quite-pissed Mark Radcliffe confusing the hell out of lovely Lauren Laverne. She genuinely seemed surprised by how ridiculous Radcliffe was being. Brilliant, but ridiculous. The best TV presenting I’ve ever seen him do. In fact, I loved it so much I went out and bought his recently published memoirs. I also picked up new musical writing magazine/glossy-book-thing Loops – a joint venture by Domino Records and Faber & Faber. I’ll report back on what could be an exciting new development in due course, but I think Norman Records summed it up quite nicely in their review: “It’s an attractive little thing, all glossy and professional-looking with words in it from such legendary titans as Nick Cave (who seems to be writing largely about Avril Lavigne‘s vagina), Nick Kent, David Shrigley, Jon Savage, Simon Reynolds… Erm. It smells really nice too. You should probably buy one!” Hmm. I sense the Lady GaGa fans returning via Google again, anytime soon.

I think I’m coming round to the idea that La Roux‘s ‘Bulletproof’ is one of the singles of the year. It’s crept up on me and now I really, really like it. She does need to smile a bit though. She still has that look of the aggressively curious baby. You know the type. Friend shows you baby, you’re supposed to say ‘awww, how sweet’, but, on this occasion, you nearly soil yourself at the sight of ugly baby glaring at you angrily. That’s what she looks like in the video. Ten times more disturbing than any banned Manics album art. Still, the song is brilliant.

The Duckworth Lewis Method‘s album is now actually available for purchase and, as my review has appeared in print, I guess I can gush about it on here now. It’s a wonderful new set by Neil Hannon and Thomas Walsh (of Pugwash fame-ish) that is a delight from the first second to the last. Joyous and unashamedly pop, it rips off the embarrassing side of 70s pop/rock, wafts off into classic Divine Comedy balladry and takes a brief detour into Noel Coward country. (For all Googlers, that was count-ry, ok?) There are some iTunes bonus tracks that they’re currently allowing you to buy individually to go with your proper shop-bought copy of the album (which is in a lovely digipak) but I’m not sure that that will always be the case. HMV in Leicester had a whole chunk of the Artists Alphabetical section set aside for this album’s physical release tomorrow. Bodes well for sales.

Other music I’m thoroughly enjoying but not especially willing to write a lot about right now: Ohbijou, My Latest Novel and Banjo Or Freakout – all brilliant, all on Bella Union (do they ever get it wrong?) The Hot 8 Brass Band and some classic Tony Christie. You know you want to.

One thought on “Shameless Nudity

Leave a Reply

