Song Of The Day 1: Johnny Boy – You Are The Generation That Bought More Shoes And You Get What You Deserve

I nearly started a feature like this on New Year’s Day and then decided against it. Then, about an hour ago, I posted on the Just Played Twitter feed about defunct music site Stylus briefly returning in order to count down its albums and singles of the last decade. I commented on their No.100 single and how great it is and then thought it mightn’t be a bad way to get this under way. I’ll probably not write much about the songs on most occasions – simply point you in the right direction. I may offer YouTube or Spotify links, depending on availability or, if I’m certain you can’t easily get hold of the track these days, I’ll offer a 24 hour only download opportunity. Ooooh, the excitement.

Anyhoo, they never managed anything else even half as good as this one song, despite being produced by James Dean Bradfield from the Manics, but this one track by Johnny Boy is enough to keep them close to my heart and my one-sided seven inch single of this has had many outings on the various turntables of the last five years or so. It’s a pop delight, with a ludicrous title and a singalong chorus that really shouldn’t work. Enjoy.

SoftD 1 More tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

