Song Of The Day 34: Mayer Hawthorne – Just Ain’t Gonna Work Out

The sticker on the front of the CD informs me that it includes a bonus 4” vinyl record with two further tracks. I can’t lie. My eyes light up and I’m sold. I’d read about Mayer Hawthorne in a few end of year pieces but my overall knowledge of him was pretty sketchy. Having said that, I’d been meaning to give him a proper listen at some point soon. Browsing the pitifully meagre and woefully overpriced racks of HMV yesterday, I alighted upon Hawthorne’s album, ‘A Strange Arrangement’, with the aforementioned sticker to lure me in. As it is, I’ve ended up very glad indeed that this particular record caught my attention. It’s all about the vintage soul sound that many try and few perfect. Winehouse did it. Sharon Jones can do it with her eyes closed and now, to that list, can be added Mayer Hawthorne. Technically, this post is all about the ‘big’ single release from that album, ‘Just Ain’t Gonna Work Out’, which is the first of the two clips below, but I’ve also included a video of somebody actually playing the charming 4” vinyl that you can simply slide out of the CD sleeve. Should you wish to treat yourself to a listen to the album, click here.

Leave a Reply

